Portico Quartet

[✉ booking request]

Territory: DE | AT | CH

Mercury Prize-nominated Portico Quartet has always been an impossible band to pin down. Sending out echoes of jazz, electronica, ambient music and minimalism, the group created their own singular, cinematic sound over the course of three studio albums, from the band’s 2007 breakthrough ‘Knee-Deep in the North Sea’, and the John Leckie produced ‘Isla’ in 2010, to the self titled recording ‘Portico Quartet’ in 2012. Now rebooted as Portico Quartet, after a brief spell as the three-piece Portico, the group released their fourth studio album Art In The Age Of Automation on forward thinking indy jazz and electronica label Gondwana Records in August 2017. It’s been hailed as possibly their finest album yet, with the band simultaneously delivering both a return to their mesmeric signature sound and fresh new sonic departures in their new music.

Portico Quartet will release Untitled (AITAOA #2) in April and tonight’s show will feature new music as well as tracks from Art in the Age of Automation and faves from their luminous back catalogue.

“Portico Quartet stake claims to territory occupied by Radiohead, Cinematic Orchestra and Efterklang”. 
***** The Guardian

Duncan Bellamy: drums and electronics
Milo Fitzpatrick: bass
Keir Vine: hang drums and keys
Jack Wyllie: saxophone and keys