Spank Rock

Spank Rock (Naeem Juwan), the "electro and dirty rap auteur" (NYTimes) and "harbinger of post-millenial rap"(FADER), has been building buzz this past year for his next release, an intense dose of club- and festival-ready rap. His six-track EP 'The Upside' follows 2011's 'Everything is Boring and Everyone is a Fucking Liar', 2008's 'Bangers & Cash EP', 2006's seminal 'Yoyoyoyoyo', and slew of recent popular singles and featured verses. Fast, ghetto, provocative, and complex, 'The Upside' is one of the most unique and creative dance records of 2014.
Juwan has a reputation as a connoisseur of the most cutting-edge trends in hip hop and dance (working with Big Freediaand Le1f on his 2011 LP, Benny Blanco in 2008, and Diploin 2005). With 'The Upside', he stays true to form, working with some of the most creative new talents from his close family of collaborators: New Orleans trap upstart Kid Kamillion, Philly hip-hop producer Noah Breakfast, German techno producer Boys Noize, and Don Loemax. Stand-out tracks include Brodinski and A-Trak favorite 'Gully', as well as 'Assassin', Spank Rock's first official single with Amanda Blank since 2008. Bonus track 'Gully (With You)' is an addictive house remix by Switch (of Major Lazer) and protege Rick Trainor for their latest electronic music projectWith You.